Skip to Content

The Board of the Finnish National Opera and Ballet is responsible for overseeing expenditure, appointment of directors, organisational strategy and programming policy. The Board is composed of nine members. The Ministry of Education and Culture appoints the Chair of the Board and four members for a three-year term, while the Cities of Helsinki, Espoo and Vantaa appoint four members in total. They are joined by a further three representatives chosen by FNOB staff.


Board membership from the conclusion of the Annual Meeting on 6 April 2022 until the end of the Annual Meeting in April 2025.

Members appointed by the Ministry of Education and Culture (5)

Leena Niemistö, M.D. Chair of the Board

Riitta Björkenheim, Development Director

Dr. Sixten Korkman, Vice Chair of the Board

Antti Mykkänen, Adviser

Kerttu Tuomas, professional board member

Member appointed by Espoo City (1)

Jaana Jalonen, Entrepreneur

Members appointed by Helsinki City (2)

Minna Lindgren, author, journalist

Tatu Rauhamäki, Director

Member appointed by Vantaa City (1)

Jukka Hako, MA

Other members:

Staff representatives (3, right to attend and address, no vote)

Pasi Eskelinen, Prompter

Maria Mannermaa, Opera Singer

Timo Pulakka, Orchestra Musician

Presenting official (no vote)

Gita Kadambi, General Director

Secretary to the Board (no vote)

Anita Prusila, General Counsel