Skip to Content

Spring Fest: Tchaikovsky’s Souvenir de Florence

35 min 31.5.2021 69 views

Pyotr Tchaikovsky: String Sextet in D minor Souvenir de Florence (Op. 70) 

The four-movement work was named Souvenir de Florence after Tchaikovsky sketched one of the work’s principal themes while visiting Florence. He composed his string sextet of approximately half an hour at the beginning of the 1890s, in the same period that gave rise to his most important stage works The Queen of SpadesIolanta, and The Nutcracker and the Mouse King. 

Strings of Finnish National Opera orchestra

Jukka Merjanen, Leader

Read more about Finnish National Opera orchestra

We are celebrating upcoming season by digital Spring Fest of the Finnish National Opera and Ballet from 17 May to 4 June 2021. During the Spring Fest we’re adding a new video to our Stage24 virtual stage every weekday, filled with music, singing, dance, humour, romance, and virtuosity… all the myriad enchantments of the arts! We hope you can join us.